Welcome to the Provincial-Territorial Immigration Secretariat website!

Immigration in Canada is an area of concurrent jurisdiction between federal, provincial, and territorial (FPT) governments under the Constitution Act, 1867. As a result, Provinces and Territories (PTs) have significant responsibilities in managing and shaping Canada‚Äôs immigration programs.

The context and strategic priorities for FPT work on immigration and integration matters are set by the Forum of Ministers responsible for Immigration (FMRI) including defining and implementing common goals for inter-jurisdictional cooperation for immigration in Canada.

The Joint Vision for Immigration was created in 2010. The development and implementation of subsequent Vision Action Plans with guidance and support from Deputy Ministers (DMs) and Assistant Deputy Ministers (ADMs), the Policy and Planning Table (PPT), and several permanent and project-specific Working Groups, help Immigration Ministers to achieve their goals.